[color photograph of 60 West St. entrance, Annapolis, Maryland] BOARD OF TRUSTEES
Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms:
Arthur Dorman, Chair (chosen by Board)

Mary-Dulany James, Esq., 2000; John L. Brunner, 2000; JoAnn M. Roberts, 2000; Glenn C. Etelson, Esq., 2001; Kim Haddow, 2001; David M. Pittenger, 2001; Martin H. Poretsky, 2001; Robert E. Denton, 2003; Guy Guzzone, 2003; Harry R. Hughes, 2003; William Moulden, 2003; Midgett S. Parker, Jr., Esq., 2003; two vacancies.

Ex officio: Royden N. Powell III, designee of Secretary of Agriculture; Robert G. Hoyt, designee of Secretary of the Environment; Torrey C. Brown, M.D., designee of Secretary of Natural Resources; Arthur Dorman, designee of Senate President; Wheeler R. Baker, designee of House Speaker.

60 West St. entrance, Annapolis, Maryland, October 2000. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

David A. Minges, Executive Director

60 West St., Suite 200A
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 974-2941
fax: (410) 269-0387

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly.

The Chesapeake Bay Trust was created as a nonprofit organization by the General Assembly in 1985 (Chapter 789, Acts of 1985). The Trust's mandate is to promote public awareness and participation in restoring and protecting the water quality and the aquatic and land resources of Chesapeake Bay.

To accomplish its mission, the Trust seeks contributions from the business community and private citizens and distributes that financial support to groups undertaking projects to help the Bay. Grant recipients are nonprofit organizations, civic and community groups, schools, and local public agencies that have conducted stream cleanups, tree and marsh grass plantings, erosion control projects, water quality studies, and habitat restorations. The Trust also has supported enhancement of environmental education centers and development of educational materials to inform people of all ages about the Bay.

In addition to donations from businesses and private citizens, the Trust receives the proceeds from sales of the commemorative Chesapeake Bay license plate, as well as a portion of gifts to the Chesapeake Bay and Endangered Species Fund via the tax check-off on the Maryland State income tax return. The tax check-off, created in 1989, enables Marylanders to contribute for Bay cleanup and programs that aid endangered species.

Although established as an instrumentality of the State, the Trust operates with independent financial and policy-making status. It is not subject to the legislative appropriation process and receives no public tax dollars.

The Trust is governed by a nineteen-member Board of Trustees. The Governor appoints fourteen of its members to four-year terms. Five members serve ex officio (Code Natural Resources Article, secs. 8-1901 through 8-1910).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2001

April 1, 2001   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 10, 2001 Maryland State Archives