Appointed by Governor to 5-year terms:
Sheila K. Riggs, Chair (chosen by Governor), 2003
Paul B. Meritt, Vice-Chair (chosen by Governor), 2004
Thomas E. Dobyns, Esq., 1996; Leonard I. Frenkil, 2000; Robert D. H. Harvey, 2000; Paige T. Davis, 2003; Carl J. Schramm, Ph.D., 2004; one vacancy.

Ex officio: Richard N. Dixon, State Treasurer

Annette Anselmi, Executive Director

401 East Pratt St., Suite 1224
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 837-6220
fax: (410) 685-1611

Annual Report to Governor due within first ninety days of each fiscal year.

The Maryland Health and Higher Educational Facilities Authority was created in 1970 (Chapter 408, Acts of 1970). The Authority assists hospitals and educational institutions with financing for construction, site acquisition, and capital equipment. Private nonprofit health and higher educational facilities may use the Authority as a vehicle to issue tax-exempt bonds and thereby pay a lower rate of interest.

The Authority consists of nine members. Eight are appointed to five-year terms by the Governor. The State Treasurer serves ex officio. Annually, the Governor designates the chair and vice-chair. With the Governor's approval, the Authority names the Executive Director (Code 1957, Art. 43C).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2001

April 1, 2001   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 10, 2001 Maryland State Archives