The State Workers' Compensation Commission originated in 1914 as the State Industrial Accident Commission (Chapter 800, Acts of 1914). In 1957, it was renamed the Workmen's Compensation Commission (Chapter 584, Acts of 1957) and, as of January 1, 1986, the Workers' Compensation Commission. By enactment of the new Labor and Employment Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland, the Commission became the State Workers' Compensation Commission in 1991 (Chapter 8, Acts of 1991).

The Commission administers the Workers' Compensation Law and adjudicates claims for compensation arising under the law (Code Labor and Employment Article, secs. 9-301 through 9-316). Reports of accidents are received by the Commission which hears contested cases throughout the State.

Appointed by the Governor with Senate advice and consent, the Commission's ten members serve twelve-year terms. The Governor names the chair.

Work of the Commission is carried on by seven divisions: Claims Processing; Fiscal Services; Information Support; Personnel; Reporting; Self-Insurance; and Support Services. The Commission also is aided by the Advisory Committee on the Registration of Rehabilitation Practitioners.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2001

April 1, 2001   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 10, 2001 Maryland State Archives