Ex officio: J. Joseph Curran, Jr., Attorney General; William Donald Schaefer, Comptroller of the Treasury; Richard N. Dixon, State Treasurer; John T. Willis, Secretary of State; Alexander L. Cummings, Clerk of the Court of Appeals.

Secretary: Linda H. Lamone, State Administrator of Elections

c/o State Board of Elections
P. O. Box 6486
151 West St.
Annapolis, MD 21401 - 6486
(410) 269-2840
1-800-222-VOTE (toll free, Maryland)
fax: (410) 974-2019
Maryland relay service: 1-800-735-2258

In 1896, the Board of State Canvassers was created (Chapter 202, Acts of 1896). Within thirty-five days after any State election, the Board meets to tabulate the votes cast for each candidate from the certified statements of votes made by the city and county boards of canvassers. The Board declares who is elected and delivers a certified determination of election results to the State Administrative Board of Election Laws. Thereafter, the State Administrative Board of Election Laws issues the Declaration of Results of the election, keeps the records of the Board of State Canvassers, and delivers a copy of the Declaration of Results to the Governor, who issues commissions to the persons elected.

The Board consists of five ex officio members (Code 1957, Art. 33, secs. 11-501 through 11-503).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2001

April 1, 2001   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 10, 2001 Maryland State Archives