[color photograph of Goldstein Treasury Building cupola] Chair: Richard N. Dixon, State Treasurer

Appointed by Governor: Paul B. Meritt

Ex officio: William Donald Schaefer, Comptroller of Maryland; T. Eloise Foster, Secretary of Budget & Management; John D. Porcari, Secretary of Transportation.

Goldstein Treasury Building, Room 109
80 Calvert St.
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 260-7303
1-800-974-0468 (toll free)

Goldstein Treasury Building cupola, Annapolis, Maryland, September 2000. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Annual Estimate to Governor & General Assembly of new State debt that may be authorized for next fiscal year due Sept. 10

The Capital Debt Affordability Committee was authorized in 1978 (Chapter 43, Acts of 1978). On a continuing basis, the Committee reviews the size and condition of the State tax-supported debt, as well as other debt of State units, including the University of Maryland System, Morgan State University, St. Mary's College of Maryland, and Baltimore City Community College.

Annually, the Committee submits to the Governor and the General Assembly its estimate of the maximum amount of new general obligation debt that prudently may be authorized for the ensuing fiscal year. In making this estimate, the Committee considers: 1) the amount of general obligation debt that will be issued and outstanding during that next fiscal year; 2) the amount of general obligation debt that will be authorized but unissued during such fiscal year; 3) the capital program plan prepared by the Department of Budget and Management for the ensuing five fiscal years; 4) projections of school construction and capital improvement needs prepared by the Interagency Committee on School Construction for the ensuing five fiscal years; 5) projections of debt service requirements for the ensuing ten fiscal years; 6) other factors relevant to the ability of the State to meet its projected debt service requirements for the ensuing five years; 7) criteria established or used by recognized bond rating agencies in judging the quality of State bond issues; 8) other factors relevant to the marketability of State bonds; and 9) the effect of additional debt authorizations on each of the factors enumerated above. The Committee's estimate is advisory and not binding upon the Governor, the Board of Public Works, or the General Assembly.

The Committee has four ex officio members and one member appointed by the Governor. The State Treasurer is the chair (Code State Finance and Procurement Article, secs. 8-104 through 8-116).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2001

April 1, 2001   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 10, 2001 Maryland State Archives