Chair: Col. David B. Mitchell, Secretary of State Police

Appointed by Governor: Stuart O. Simms; Jennifer A. L. Smith, Ph.D.

Appointed by Senate President: Timothy R. Ferguson

Appointed by House Speaker: Joseph M. Getty

Representatives of crime laboratories: Jane C. Cooke; Richard P. Gervasoni; Karen L. Irish; Jeffrey Kercheval; Edgar F. Koch, Sr.; Clarence Polk; Louis C. Portis, Ph.D.; John E. Smialek, M.D.; William Vosburgh.

Ex officio: Richard Kastendieck, designee of Attorney General

Contact: Thomas M. Williams

c/o Dept. of State Police
1201 Reisterstown Road
Pikesville, MD 21208 - 3899
(410) 653-4431
fax: (410) 653-9651

Report to Governor & General Assembly due Sept. 30, 2001.

The Forensic Sciences Task Force was authorized by the Governor in January 2000 (Executive Order 01.01.2000.04). The Task Force will make recommendations on developing cooperative working procedures among the State's crime laboratories. It also will propose a statewide master plan to coordinate services, and staff training guidelines. In addition, the quality of existing forensic services, new equipment and technology, and potential sources of federal funding will be considered by the Task Force.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2001

April 1, 2001   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 10, 2001 Maryland State Archives