Chair: Casper R. Taylor, Jr., House Speaker

Contact: Joni R. Hedrick

72 Pershing St.
Cumberland, MD 21502
(301) 724-9234
e-mail: joni_hedrick@house.state.md.us
fax: (301) 724-7635

By executive letter of October 8, 1998, the Governor formed the Western Maryland Economic Development Strategies Task Force. In February 1999, it was renamed the Western Maryland Economic Development Task Force. The Task Force is to devise ways to revitalize economic growth in Allegany and Garrett counties in western Maryland.



Chair: Casper R. Taylor, Jr., House Speaker

Appointed by Governor: Donald P. Battista; Joyce D. Bishoff; Terry L. Bowman; Dyan Lingle Brasington; M. Kathryn Burkey; Beverly B. Byron; Roger A. Dandridge; Thomas B. Finan, Jr.; Norman M. Glasgow, Sr., Esq.; William B. Grant; Charles O. Heller; Paul C. Herring; Gerald N. Hess; Elizabeth Hurwitz-Schwab; John Korpela; Kim B. Leonard; Brian G. Malloy; Elaine Lascaris McDonald; Raymond O. Metz; Milton H. Miller, Sr.; Wayne A. Mills; David L. Moe; Karen F. Myers; Adrienne L. Ottaviani; Colleen T. Peterson; Joseph V. Prado; Barry R. Ronan; Gary Ruddell; Roger Ruff; Janis M. Russell; Cristine Kepple Sweitzer, Esq.; David W. Turnbull; Mark L. Wasserman; Marc E. Zanger.

Appointed by Senate President: John J. Hafer

Appointed by House Speaker: George C. Edwards

Ex officio: William Donald Schaefer, Comptroller of Maryland; David S. Iannucci, Secretary of Business & Economic Development; Jane T. Nishida, Secretary of the Environment; Raymond A. Skinner, Secretary of Housing & Community Development; John P. O'Connor, Secretary of Labor, Licensing, & Regulation; Harriet Tregoning, Secretary of Planning; Karen R. Johnson, Secretary of Higher Education; Donald L. Alexander, Ed.D., President, Allegany College of Maryland; Stephen J. Herman, Ph.D., President, Garrett Community College; Catherine R. Gira, Ph.D., President, Frostburg State University; Lee N. Fiedler, Mayor of Cumberland; John N. Bambacus, Mayor of Frostburg; Asa M. McCain, Jr., Mayor of Oakland; William J. AuMiller, Ed.D., Superintendent of Schools, Allegany County; Wendell D. Teets, Ed.D., Superintendent of Schools, Garrett County; Thomas E. Cooley, Director, Economic Development, Allegany County; James C. Hinebaugh, Director, Economic Development, Garrett County.

Lee N. Fiedler, Chair

Staff: Robin Douglas (301) 722-0054
Al Feldstein (301) 777-2158

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2001

April 1, 2001   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 10, 2001 Maryland State Archives