J. Harvie Wilkinson III, Virginia, Chief Judge, 2003

Patricia S. Conner, Clerk

U.S. Courthouse Annex, 5th floor
1100 East Main St.
Richmond, Virginia 23219
(804) 916-2700

The United States Courts of Appeals are intermediate appellate courts. They were created in 1891 to relieve overcrowding of the U.S. Supreme Court docket. The appeals courts are empowered to review all decisions of federal district courts, certain special courts, and administrative bodies, except in those few instances where direct review by the U.S. Supreme Court is mandated.

Under the United States Court of Appeals are thirteen judicial circuits. The fourth judicial circuit includes Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina.

Fifteen judges sit on the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. They are appointed for life terms by the President of the United States with the advice and consent of the U.S. Senate. The judge with seniority who is under 65 years of age is designated Chief Judge. The Chief Judge may serve no longer than seven years.

U.S. Court of Appeals, 4th Circuit - Former Judges
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2001

April 1, 2001   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 10, 2001 Maryland State Archives