DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT

Jane T. Nishida, Secretary of the Environment (410) 631-3084

Arthur W. Ray, Deputy Secretary (410) 631-3086
Robert G. Hoyt, Assistant Secretary for Policy Coordination (410) 631-4187
Allan P. Jensen, Director, Administrative & Employee Services Administration (410) 631-3116
Ann Marie DeBiase, Director, Air & Radiation Management Administration (410) 631-3255
Robert S. Summers, Ph.D., Director, Technical & Regulatory Services Administration (410) 631-3680
Richard W. Collins, Director, Waste Management Administration (410) 631-3304
James L. Hearn, Director, Water Management Administration (410) 631-3567
M. Rosewin Sweeney, Principal Counsel (410) 631-3053

2500 Broening Highway
Baltimore, MD 21224
(410) 631-3000
1-800-633-6101 (toll free, Maryland)
e-mail: jnishida@mde.state.md.us
tdd: (410) 631-3009
web: www.mde.state.md.us/


Agencies

Budget

Functions

Historical Evolution

Organizational Chart

Organizational Structure

Origin

Reports


ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

OFFICE OF SECRETARY

(U00A0101, formerly 39.01.01.01)
FY2001 appropriation: $1,718,247
FY2001 authorized positions: 19
Jane T. Nishida, Secretary of the Environment (appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent) (410) 631-3084
e-mail: jnishida@mde.state.md.us

Arthur W. Ray, Deputy Secretary (410) 631-3086
e-mail: aray@mde.state.md.us

Cathy J. Wagenfer, Director of Operations (410) 631-3083
e-mail: cwagenfer@mde.state.md.us

POLICY COORDINATION

Robert G. Hoyt, Assistant Secretary for Policy Coordination (410) 631-4187
e-mail: bhoyt@mde.state.md.us

ADMINISTRATIVE & EMPLOYEE SERVICES ADMINISTRATION

(U00A0202, formerly 39.01.02.02)
FY2001 appropriation: $6,099,245
FY2001 authorized positions: 57
Allan P. Jensen, Director (410) 631-3116
e-mail: ajensen@mde.state.md.us

Vacancy, Deputy Director (410) 631-4419

AIR & RADIATION MANAGEMENT ADMINISTRATION

(U00A0701, formerly 39.01.07)
FY2001 appropriation: $11,056,265
FY2001 authorized positions: 195
Ann Marie DeBiase, Director (410) 631-3255
e-mail: adebiase@mde.state.md.us
web: www.mde.state.md.us/arma/Airqulty/airqual.html

Angelo J. Bianca, Deputy Director (410) 631-3260
e-mail: abianca@mde.state.md.us

TECHNICAL & REGULATORY SERVICES ADMINISTRATION

(U00A0501, formerly 39.01.05.01)
FY2001 appropriation: $13,214,946
FY2001 authorized positions: 146.3
Robert S. Summers, Ph.D., Director (410) 631-3680
e-mail: rsummers@mde.state.md.us

Robin Grove, Deputy Director (410) 631-3572
e-mail: rgrove@mde.state.md.us
fax: (410) 631-3873

Narendra Panday, Technical Coordinator (410) 631-3680
e-mail: npanday@mde.state.md.us

WASTE MANAGEMENT ADMINISTRATION

(U00A06, formerly 39.01.06)
FY2001 appropriation: $21,536,490
FY2001 authorized positions: 223
Richard W. Collins, Director (410) 631-3304
e-mail: rcollins@mde.state.md.us
web: www.mde.state.md.us/was/

Horacio A. Tablada, Deputy Director (410) 631-3304
e-mail: htablada@mde.state.md.us

WATER MANAGEMENT ADMINISTRATION

(U00A04, formerly 39.01.04)
FY2001 appropriation: $26,442,348
FY2001 authorized positions: 328.1
James L. Hearn, Director (410) 631-3567
e-mail: jhearn@mde.state.md.us

Vacancy, Deputy Director (410) 631-3512

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance


Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2001

April 1, 2001   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 10, 2001 Maryland State Archives